Home >

Mayors Join the General Assembly

Nearly a dozen legislators with mayoral experience were sworn in to the 100th General Assembly. Five former mayors and one current mayor will serve in the Senate, while five former mayors will serve in the House. 
Senator Dale Fowler, former Mayor of Harrisburg, and Representative Tony McCombie, former Mayor of Savanna, were elected to the General Assembly for the first time in November. 
Senator Tom Rooney, former Mayor of Rolling Meadows, was appointed to the Senate in September 2016 to fill a vacancy and began his first full session as a member of the 100th General Assembly.
Senator Steve Landek, who currently serves as Mayor of Bridgeview, has been a member of the General Assembly since 2011.
Other former mayors now serving in the General Assembly include:
Senator Pam Althoff – McHenry
Senator Tom Cullerton – Villa Park
Senator Andy Manar – Bunker Hill
Representative Anthony DeLuca – Chicago Heights
Representative Mike Fortner – West Chicago
Representative Chad Hayes – Catlin
Representative Marty Moylan – Des Plaines
Short biographies of the new legislators are listed below:
Senator Dale Fowler (Harrisburg) served as the Mayor of Harrisburg and previously as a commissioner on the city council. He has also served on the Saline County Board. He has served as President of the United Way of Southern Illinois and Chairman of the Midland Institute’s Saline County C.E.O. program.
Representative Tony M. McCombie (Savanna) served as the Mayor of Savanna and as a former member of its city council. She holds a degree from Western Illinois University. She also is a former President of the Savanna Chamber of Commerce and is active in other area chambers of commerce.
Senator Tom Rooney (Rolling Meadows) served as the Mayor of Rolling Meadows and as a former city council member. He has a Bachelor’s degree from Loyola University of Chicago as well as a Master’s degree from Northern Illinois University. He was an intelligence specialist in the Marine Corps Reserve and taught high school economics and history for 21 years.