Home > Review Magazine Issues > 2017 Review Magazine > Review Magazine - March 2017 >

Editor's Desk

“The question is frequently asked: Why does a man become a drug addict? The answer is that he usually does not intend to become an addict.”
William S. Burroughs, 1914-1997
American novelist, short story writer, essayist, painter and spoken word performer – and drug addict.

 
 
 
By the time you’re reading this, the Illinois Consolidated Primary Elections are probably a wrap, but the April Municipal Elections are just around the corner. To help answer your questions about municipal elections, the Illinois State Board of Elections has prepared the State of Illinois Local Election Official’s Handbook for the 2017 Consolidated Elections, available for download at iml.org/election.
 
 


 
It’s not to late to register for the March 31 Illinois Municipal League 2017 Municipal Attorneys Seminar being held in Bloomington. Register online at www.iml.org/seminar. Registration fee of $175 includes breakfast, lunch, Sunshine Laws Manual and 6.25 MCLE credit hours. 

 

In Memoriam
 
Carl Oblinger, the former Mayor of Chatham, passed away on January 22, 2017, at the age of 72.  Oblinger served as Chatham’s mayor from 1989 to 1993 and as a village trustee from 1987 until his election as mayor. After his term as mayor, Oblinger served as Sangamon County circuit clerk from 1992 to 1996. He served on the Lincoln Land Community College board for many years. During his career, he worked at the Illinois Historic Preservation Agency and the Department of Children and Family Services; and he was an historian, teacher and author.
 
 

Have a question or want to contact IML Staff?

Phone 217.525.1220

E-mail:
Brad Cole, Executive Director – bcole@iml.org
Tera Antonacci, Membership & Accounting – tantonacci@iml.org
Rachel Caton, Receptionist – rcaton@iml.org
Kim Cummings, Advocacy Coordinator – kcummings@iml.org
Jessica DeWalt, Assistant Counsel – jdewalt@iml.org
Craig Elliott, Technology & Facilities Director – celliott@iml.org
Lori Harlan, Public Affairs Manager – lharlan@iml.org
Patrick Hayes, General Counsel – phayes@iml.org
Joe McCoy, Legislative Director – jmccoy@iml.org
Joe Schatteman, Deputy Legislative Director – jschatteman@iml.org
Rebecca Turner, Publications & Special Projects Coordinator – rturner@iml.org